Book Review: ‘Gods At War’ by Kyle Idleman

_240_360_Book.804.cover

Kyle Idleman wrote a book called, “Not A Fan.”  It was a t.v. show that Mom and I started watching before we found out it was a book.  I saw “Gods At War” in a magazine for LifeWay, and when I went over to Booksneeze and I saw that it was available, I knew I had to read it.  I didn’t realize it was by Kyle, so when I found that out, I knew it was a sign.

In this book, “Gods At War,” Kyle talks about all of the gods in this world that we have: money, sex, food, achievement, the list goes on.  Idolatry isn’t an issue–it is the issue he says.

I went back and forth with my feelings on this book.  At first I felt like he was telling the reader they were a bad person.  But, the more I read, the more I realized that wasn’t what he was saying at all.  He was merely bringing to the reader’s attention that these things can happen, will happen, or is happening.  It’s easy to worship things that bring you immediate results, but in the end, are the results what you strive for?  Do they take you away from what is really important like family and health?  Kyle lets you know that there is always a way out, and he shows it to you.

This book is very good.  It has shown me things that I need to take care of and be aware of in my own life that I didn’t realize needed to be taken care of.  It convicts, but not in a way that makes you feel…bad.  He brings things into the light, shows you how to take care of it, and lets you do the rest.

I would give this book five stars.  It’s easy to read, it’s fun to read (he’s a funny guy), he’s real and honest, and I got a lot out of it.

Read this book if you’re struggling, with anything.  You don’t have to be a Christian to read this, it’s for anyone (just don’t mind the fact that Kyle does include scriptures and Jesus’ name).

(P.S. I’m pretty sure the theme song for this book would be “Battle” by Chris August.  Just sayin’.)

 

Leave a Reply

