Don’t Be ‘That Guy’

As you may or may not know, I have a job.  I got it after I quit school, as opposed to getting a job then quitting.  But no matter, it has worked out for the best.  I work at Dollar General (it’s a dollar store).  My neighbor is the assistant manager and I…well, I am a cashier.  Here’s the thing, out of 14 people who work there, less than half actually work there.  One of them is back in school, but as for the other seven…they have no hours.  We have one stocker who is super hard-working and one of my favorite people to work with, if I ever get out from behind the register.

I am a people person.  I love people (sometimes).  I love putting items on a shelf and having someone come ask me where something is, and I walk them over to the product.  They’re always so happy when they find what they’re looking for.  I love putting smiles on people’s faces.  The problem is, I don’t do that when I’m at the register.  I piss people off.  And I have to ignore people when they ask me where something is.  I don’t want to ignore people, that’s just rude.  And it hurts my soul (but they shouldn’t ask me where something is in the first place when I have a line full of people to take care of.  Can’t you see I’m busy here?)  Also, if I’m not too busy, I can point… Yea, like that helps.  “Oh, it’s over there,” as I point in the general direction of the product, but the customer has no idea what I’m pointing at.  There are times when I just want to walk away from the person in line, and go take care of other people.  I wish I could.  That would make me happy.  Sadly, I’m very good at the cash register, and I’m probably going to be stuck there for the rest of my time at this job because no one wants to work (although, there have been quite a few people who have asked if we’re hiring.  Oh please God, please, Lord Jesus).

Apart from not being able to help people, which hurts me more than you know, another reason why I don’t like being a cashier is because of the customers.  Some of them piss me off make me very angry.  Either it’s their attitudes, or they do one of the following five things.  I call them ‘that guy’.  You know, ‘that guy’ that takes forever to find change in their pocket.  The word ‘guy’ here also applies to females.  You know, ‘that guy’ who takes forever to find change in their purse (that could also apply to a guy, I don’t judge).

Here are five other things you should avoid so you’re not labeled as ‘that guy’:

  1. Items at end of conveyor belt –

    There is a button that cashiers push so that the belt automatically moves when items are a certain distance from the end.  I have this too.  I’ve been using it more.  But, why use it when the belt is only 3-3 1/2 feet long (could be shorter, I’m not great with distance or length).  1, I could very easily stretch to grab the items that you have placed alllll the way at the end of belt, but 2, you’re already standing in front of me, so why can’t you just move your stuff a little closer?  It’s less of a distance for you to grab your stuff, than it is for me.  Please, for the love of God, if you have the opportunity, place your items as close to the cashier as possible.

  2. “I’ll be right back”-

    This is very common at work, more common than it should be.  “I have a penny in the car, I’ll be right back,” so they go out to their car as the line starts to extend.  I don’t have the ability to cancel the transaction, so I have to stand there and wait for ‘that guy’ as the people in the ever extending line look at me like I’m the one stopping them from checking out.  Note: I’m the only cashier at work most of the time.  The other times, it’s the assistant manager (my neighbor) who is in the back of the store working on a project of his own.  Do you think he has time to come help me and the angry customer mob?  No.  Another rendition of ‘that guy’ is, “I’ll be right back, I forgot something” and they leave for a good minute or so.  See above for what the other people in the line look at me like.

  3. Don’t take bags –

    There are six bag holders in the marry-go-round that holds the bags (I know you know what I’m talking about).  Six, which means that I have six available, open bags to put stuff in (because that’s what you do with bags, you put stuff in them…I guess.  I could have been using them wrong this whole time).  Now, after I fill up said six available bags to the brim, maybe even overflowing, ‘that guy’ will not take the bags.  And I am left standing there, holding this cold gallon of milk spinning the marry-go-round looking for an available bag, knowing full well there isn’t one.  And no, ‘that guy’ does not get the hint.  At least, some of them don’t.  If they do, all is well.  If they don’t , I 1, put the item on the floor until they get the hint, or 2, if there aren’t a lot of other items, I take the bag off myself and put it on the conveyor belt right in front of them.  If I do 1, chances are, you will leave without it.  It’s not my fault.  You failed to take the full bags off so I could place the item in the new, empty one.  And, you left without remembering you bought the item.  For the love of God, please take your bags, people!

  4. Change for $100 –

    I don’t see this a lot at other places, but boy do I see it here.  ‘That guy’ buys two items, and their total is $2.16, and they hand me a $100 bill.  At a dollar store?  Your total is TWO DOLLARS!  No, I will NOT give you $97 dollars!  I barely have $50!  Please don’t hand someone a $100 bill if your total is less than $25.

  5. Talking on the phone in line –

    Just don’t.  First of all, I can’t ask you how you’re doing, second of all, you’re not paying attention to me when I’m done ringing up your stuff and I’m waiting for you to hand over your money/slide your card.  Just…it can wait two minutes.  Really, it can.

  6. *Bonus* “How much is this?” –

    Does it have a price tag on it?  No?  Well unless I know the price of every single item in the store, and the price it changes to, and the price it is if it’s 25% or 50% off, I don’t know!  It’s between $1 and $20 (some of our clothes are $20, other than that it’s between $1 and $10).  Yes, I can ring it up for you and tell you the price, but not when I’m concentrating on counting money and figuring out how much to give back.  The item does not clearly say how much it is worth.  Wait your turn!

And that’s that.  And I’m just talking about people who are waiting in line.  Don’t be ‘that guy’ in the store that places a product one shelf up from where it is supposed to be.  Move your arm a six inches down and a few inches forward and put the item back in its correct spot.  Good Lord!

That’s all.  Have a good day.

Leave a Reply

