Weirdo Chicken

This is my mother, who I call “weirdo chicken”, getting a tattoo at Red Tattoo Parlor in Mount Juliet, TN

As I was laying in my mother’s bed this morning, with my laptop on, getting ready to type up another chapter of my book, I saw the three mini composition notebooks she bought me yesterday at Walmart.  Sure they were 25¢, and she bought some for herself, but when I looked at them, I thought, “I love my mother” and thought of everything she has done for me throughout my whole life.

When I was little, I wanted to be a doctor that separates children.  I guess I saw it on t.v. and thought that it would be cool.  So Mom went out and bought me a stethoscope.  Then for a brief period of time (a day?) I wanted to be an architect.  Since it didn’t last for long, she didn’t really think about it (good, because, no way would I want to be one now).  I wanted to learn ballet, so she signed me up.  I wanted to learn karate, so she signed me up.  I wanted to… (cut up pictures and put them into a photo book and cut neat things…I’ll remember what it is after I post this) Scrapbook! (see?  I told you), so she got everything we needed.  I’ve wanted to do so much, and she has always gone out of her way to help me.  I recently wanted to make guitar pedals, and she was going to get me those supplies, but I just floated away from that before she bought me anything (for now!  I will start doing that when I have nothing else to do).

I love it when kids go back to school.  Notebooks are only 70¢!  It’s funny, when it was ‘school supply shopping’ this year, I said, “Mom, we have to go get a notebook.”  And she said, “I know, I’ve been meaning to do that.”  It kind of surprised me.  She was actually thinking about that.  Yes, she loves her paper too, but she’s also pointing out pens and pencils to me.  Always bringing them home for me and pointing out new ones she has used or seen.

Back in 2010, when I did my first NaNoWriMo, I was complaining to her about my story.  And she didn’t think I was crazy.  “Ugh, my characters are talking to me!”  “Well, just think of them as real people in another dimension.”  That’s my mother, coming up with realistic and just as crazy suggestions as I would make.

Whatever I had wanted to do, or thought I wanted to do, she has always been there to help me.  Either so I knew that’s not what I really wanted, or to show me it could be a possibility.  I love her so much.  She has always been ok with me and my decisions crazy or…more crazy.  Even when I came home after summer vacation and said, “Mom, how would you feel about me quitting college?”  Although she had a confused look on her face, she heard me out.  “I want to focus on my writing” I told her.  “Ok,” she responded, “start off with writing a blog.”

That’s my mother.  And I love her.

3 thoughts on “Weirdo Chicken

  1. ..OH and to replace her torn glove(s). thank you again. (it’s important, considering getting inked is addictive and if she returns to that artist it would be nice if they performed the anti-cross contamination ethic.)

    now, i’m done.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the suggestions. We probably won’t be going back, though. There are other tattoo artists out there, and we’ve already gotten one from her, so, we’re going to move on to someone else :).
      But, the next time we do get a tattoo, I’ll be sure to remember these questions :).

      Like

Leave a Reply

