My Best Friend’s Wedding

My best friend, Melissa, got married yesterday!  I hadn’t seen her in four years, but we picked up right where we left off.  And he son has gotten so big!  He is adorable!

Mom and I got to see Joe, her brother, and Lilith and her friend.  We caught up with Debbie, Melissa’s mom.

I also got to see my dad.  He’s doing better.  I don’t know if I told you this or not, but he’s on probation for a while from two DUIs.  It was a good conversation.  Mom and Dad were civil, and it seemed like all of us were able to speak freely and honestly.  It was pleasant.

I like Mark, Melissa’s husband.  He seems like a sweet guy.

I’m so proud of her.  After everything’s she been through, I’m happy to see her happy.

We also went to the Detroit Zoo to see their new penguin exhibit.  Oh my gooooodness, it was so awesome!  I am SO going back!

I also saw the house I grew up in (my dad’s mom’s house that she had for YEARS).  It changed…  It made me sad.

I also “met” my great grandma and great grandpa (my dad’s dad’s parents) and my grandpa’s sister (my great aunt?).  I did a lot of research on my ancestry, and I found out that they were buried there, so we took a trip and I actually stood there and talked to them.  Of course, I cried.  I told them, “Thank you.”

I didn’t cry because I missed them, I cried because of the realization that, I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for them.  I love my life, and I love where I am and who I am, and they had something to do with that.

Alright, I’m leaving before I start getting sappy.  I’ll talk to you next week.

Leave a Reply

