Don’t Let It Go To Your Head

Oh adversity, why must you come against me?

People are all up in their feelings, as if my friend, the new assistant manager, has changed any.  Not to me.  But then again, maybe I’ve worked with her more.  Maybe I’m closer to her.  Or maybe, they’re not used to a manager managing the store.  She’s making people work.  She’s making them do their job.

Oh no, this…this is a crisis.  Alert the press.

She’s doing a good job, though.  Even though people have told her, “Don’t let the title go to your head.”  Oh please, she had the title, even when she didn’t.

I’m used to her way of doing things, because I’ve been around her for so long.  Plus, when I worked at Dollar General, my assistant manager was the same way.  “What are you doing?  Nothing?  Are you bored?  Oh good, there’s plenty of things to do.”  As long as I was doing something, he was happy (something productive).

She’s the same way.  Do something, and I won’t have to give you something to do.  You’ve been working here for six, seven years, you know what you need to be doing, not standing at the register on your phone.  Nope, not going to cut it.

And I just stand back in the deli, sweeping, watching all of this, and laughing, feeling very privileged to have spent so much time with her…but then again, she’s been there for two years, so, that really is no excuse.  They’ve spent more time with her.  We just don’t think they take her seriously, because she’s been there for so long and has built a friendship with them.  Now she’s their boss, and they, figuratively, laugh at her.

Who knows?  I don’t.  Nobody does.  We just work here.

Good night!  Good morning!  Good everything!

Leave a Reply

