It’s Finally Spring!

Happy Spring everyone!  Finally.  I thought it’d never get here.  It’s still cold, but the sun is shining, and the flowers are blooming.

Mom got a job as a cashier, where I work.  Sadly, they’re only giving her two days a week.  We can’t understand why, but there’s no reason to ask because Mom is still looking for another job.  This was just to get her out of the house, and have some extra money coming in.  The other two new cashiers are getting four days, as well as the other two new deli workers (I’m getting three, while another coworker is getting five).  I’m not complaining, not like everyone else there.  I just try to keep my mouth shut, and do my job.  No one appreciates it, they only find what I do wrong, instead of thanking me for what I do right.  But, hey, why thank me when it’s my job, right?  Right…

A guy came to our door the other day and said, “Hi, I’m here to shut off your electricity.”  So, that happened.  Mom used a credit card to pay the bill, since we’re running out of money.  Oh, yeah, and I got a twenty-five cent raise.  Whoop whoop.

I’m not too concerned though.  I’d love to only have three days a week, so I can concentrate of my “editing job” that I’ve been talking about all winter.  Yeah, I guess I’m still thinking about that.  But with summer around the corner, I bet I’ll have more than that pretty soon.  But then again, they did just get two new people in the deli.  Maybe it would be best if I started up this editing business.

In other news, I got a book.  Essays and Poems by Ralph Waldo Emerson.  As much as I hated high school, I do have to thank my Junior/Senior English teacher for introducing me to Emerson.  I had to read Nature and Self-Reliance for his class.  I had been wanting a book of his stuff, and I finally remembered long enough to look for one in a bookstore.  Found one!  I read the introduction, and thought this was the best book ever (the intro wasn’t even written by Emerson).

I only just started Chapter Three of Blue, Uncertainty.  I had a great idea for the title of my Orange book by looking at a sunset.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have a camera to take an inspirational picture.  Oh poop.  Yes, I do plan on writing the rainbow…if I can get past the first book…

Ah, such is life.  I shall continue this one sided dialogue next time.  Until then, have a wonderful week, and I shall talk to you next time.

Good night!  Good morning!  Good everything!

2 thoughts on “It’s Finally Spring!

  1. I know many times in retail there is a deal made upon the interview of a minimum amount of hours an employee needs, or sometimes if one has more experience in a similar field they receive more hours. I would explain to your scheduling manager that you appreciate the raise but that you or your mom could really use an extra day or two, that you are having trouble making ends meet. Don’t go into detail, just enough so they understand. Allot of times so long as your performance has been great by whatever line of measurement they particularly use they will work with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

