The Plagiarist And The Word ‘No’

Once upon a time, the English language had a word called ‘no’.  History books say this word meant, “the opposite of yes.”  The history books also explain why this word is no longer used.  People used the word ‘no’ because the person who they said it to was a different color, or race, or religion.  Sometimes, a different gender.  This one little, two letter word caused so much violence that the government had to delete it from our vocabulary.  Now, everyone is equal.

This is the direction the world is going.  Parents are too afraid to say ‘no’ to their kids, in fear of the kids not liking them.  Parents want to be friends, not parents.  If someone says ‘no’ to someone who has never heard it, they become brats and throw a hissy fit.

This is what happened to me.

I was trying to someone with their college papers.  We’ll call them Thirty, since that’s their age.  Now, as the assignments went on, they did less and less of the work.  I didn’t see this at first, not until Thirty took advantage of my willingness to help them.

They needed my help to write a paper.  I couldn’t help them.  I told them to write the paper and send it to me.  The next day, they showed me what their teacher sent back to them, regarding the paper.  96%.  96% of the paper was plagiarized.  I couldn’t believe it, there had to be something I could do to fix this.  I was their editor.  Maybe they forgot citations.  That could be forgiven.

No, that wasn’t the only thing that was wrong.  Thirty had copied and pasted other things, other than articles.  How could I put down a citation for something that was blatantly stolen from someone else?

I told them I couldn’t help.  I said ‘no’.  I was not about to do something wrong to cover up their wrong doing.  This did not go over well.  They accused me of always having something to do when they had an assignment.  This was the first, out of seven, that I was unable to help with.

I was expecting to go to work and find their family waiting for me, but all I got was my friend who knew Thirty’s side of the story was not the whole truth.  I’m not complaining.  At least they had enough common sense to hear me out.

I later found out that, when Thirty told me they didn’t have to write papers in high school, what they really meant was, they had papers but they didn’t write them.  I found out Thirty always got someone else to do their work for them.

I have come to the conclusion that I will no longer be helping Thirty.  They have taken advantage of me, and others, for far too long.  And I’m here to say ‘no’.

Good night!  Good morning!  Good everything!

Leave a Reply

