Resolute

Happy New Year!  Welcome to 2015.  This is the time when I tell you what I would like to do this year, with my life and my blog, and you politely listen and wait till I crash and burn.  Let us begin:

This is the year I turn 25.  That is a significant age.  Not just for me, but for others as well.  I have a friend who is also turning 25 this year, and she wants to change.  She’s not happy with her lifestyle, and she wants to do better.  I like my life, but I want to enhance it.

This year, I will try my hardest to get my novel, Times, editor ready.  But first, I have to rewrite about half of it.  I can do that in a year, right?  Hopefully.  But, I want to do that by June.  June?!  Yes, June.  I have six months to rewrite my story to a point where I am ready to let someone else read it.  Right now, not so much.  It’s possible.  I can see its potential underneath the pile of crap that it is.  Think of it as an Orc.  I could have very well said flower, but that’s way too expected.

This year, I also want to start my “editing business.”  And by business, I mean, I want to edit for money so I can pay for an editor and cover designer and other expenses I may come across.  Right now, my paycheck it going towards bills and food.  I don’t want to just make ends meet, you know?

These are not resolutions.  These are more than resolutions.  Resolutions have become something that people make, knowing they can’t keep them, or, expecting to not keep them.  No, these two things are things I want to be resolute towards.  I want to be admirably purposeful, determined, and unwavering.  I know I said I’ll crash and burn, but maybe I won’t crash as hard, and maybe the plane won’t blow up.  Maybe this year, I’ll just have a rocky landing.  Maybe this year, I’ll land with ease and grace.  Who knows?  These two things may actually happen.

And I look forward to when they do.

Good night!  Good morning!  Good everything!

Leave a Reply

