Book Review: ‘The Confession’ by Robert Whitlow

_240_360_Book.1297.cover

In Holt Douglas’s line of work, there’s nothing sweeter than a confession of guilt.

Assistant D.A. Holt Douglas makes his living exposing lies and sending criminals to jail in Ashley County, Georgia. His job is always easier when defendants, instead of remaining silent, blame someone else or try to excuse their actions. With a confession in his hand, Holt knows a guilty plea will soon follow.

But lurking in Holt’s past is a dark secret that could end his successful career and possibly his relationship with Angelina, his hoped for fiancé.

 

My mother enjoyed this book.  It didn’t take her any time at all to finish it.  She told me she had read another book by him, and she enjoyed that one as well.

I, however, had a very difficult time getting even half-way through this book.  In fact, I didn’t even finish it.  It’s full of info dumps, and slow pacing.  I’d like to read it more for the relationship Holt has with one of the other female characters (not Angelina), but I don’t want to deal with the other stuff.

It had its moments.  At least I got as far as I did.  It’s a pretty long book (49 chapters), but they’re short.  It’s an easy read, if you don’t mind info dumps (like my mother).

It’s probably more interesting than I think it is. I’ll just take my mom’s word for it.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program.

 

Leave a Reply

