Just As Important

I was talking to my new co-worker today, and we got into a conversation about religion.  She went on for a good twenty minutes, if not more, about what she believes.

It was interesting, and it made me think about what I believe.  It’s just as important as what I don’t believe.

This reminded me of the familiar, what’s not on the paper is just as important as what is on the paper, saying.  It goes with life too.

What you have/believe/write/say/etc is just as important as what you don’t.

She helped me to understand what I believe, what I don’t, and why.  It was a challenge.  I didn’t say anything to her, I just asked questions and listened (because that’s what I do at first).  It was interesting, because I had never heard her way of thinking.  At least, not her story about her way of thinking.

She may not have convinced me to change, but at least she opened my mind to another way of thinking.

What about you?  Why is what you [blank] more important than what you don’t?  What are your thoughts on this?  Let me know!  I’d love to open my mind to another way of thinking (as well as others who may read this and/or comment).

By the way, Happy Friday the 13th!

2 thoughts on “Just As Important

  1. I think I TRY to work via the belief that having an OPEN mind to ANY idea is more important than what I DO or DON’T currently believe, partly because we are (mostly) evolving people.
    I was more impressed by you being able to listen and HEAR what someone who believed something different was saying – often, it seems, around issues such as religion, that as soon as someone starts saying something that doesn’t mirror what they think they start throwing word-bombs, so kudos re that.
    8^>

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment! I absolutely love hearing what other people have to say, regarding religion, since it’s a big part of my life. I also love people and learning how they think, and I also want to know what is out there that I have never heard of. So to hear that she believes something I don’t know that much about, I was willing to learn.

      Like

Leave a Reply

