Book Review: ‘The Romance Of Religion’ by Dwight Longenecker

 

_240_360_Book.1114.coverI don’t know where to begin with this book. It’s good, there are many things that he writes that would be great quotes.

There’s a lot of alliteration, and a lot to take in. I found myself nodding at a lot of the things he said, but I also found myself putting it down for days to allow myself to digest it all. There’s a lot to learn, and some of it is too hard to get the first time reading it. His writing style reminds me of something “old”, like Emerson (though “old” is subjective).

It’s not a bad book. In fact, I really liked a lot of it. It’s just hard to read and it takes a while to think about what you just read. It’s a book that can’t be read in one sitting, and it isn’t for everyone. Just read a page or two to see if it’s for you.

Even though it was hard to read (for me), what he said was spot on and thought provoking. He showed me things I had never really thought about, and said it in a way that stuck with me.

Thanks to Book Look Bloggers for giving it away for free in return for a review. I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

