My Own Zelda Lifestyle

I'm missing my Skyward Sword poster. Oops! Looks like I'm not done after all.
I’m missing my Skyward Sword poster. Oops! Looks like I’m not done after all.

(This blog post is inspired by this article)

And that’s not all!  Like I said, I’m missing my Skyward Sword poster (that I just found).  I also have Hyrule Historia, toys of Link, Zelda, and Ganondorf.  I have a sweat band, the Ocarina of Time soundtrack, and of course, Twilight Symphony.  I also have two t-shirts: “Don’t make me go Zelda on you” and “I’m not Zelda” with Link looking quit furious.  I may not have a lot, but what I have is sufficient.  It all brings me great joy.

But what brings me the greatest joy of all is the fact that, even if I lose every bit of physical evidence of my love for the series, I can still look back and remember why I started writing.

On my birthday in 1999 is when my mother bought me Ocarina of Time.  I had watched her boyfriend (at the time) play this beautiful game, where a boy in green fights a man in black and he has to hit back the balls of light that was thrown at him.  I was enthralled, mesmerized, intrigued.  I had only played 007 and Forsaken with my Dad at the time (anyone remember Forsaken?  That was a fun game!).

I’m an only child, and with a mother who worked a lot, I was by myself quite a bit.  So, I had to make stuff up to keep myself entertained (shooting imaginary animals with sticks, while being tormented by my invisible, mean sister Hailey.  Boy, sounds like fun to me).  I was always coming up with stories and adventures, but my mind was very limited.  Until I played Zelda.

A boy who was different, who was chosen, who had the world at his fingertips but stayed only on his quest (unless you’re like me and won Epona and rode around Hyrule Field for hours, and hours, and…)  Even then I made up my own stories.  “I feel like swimming.  Come on Epona, to Lake Hylia!  Oh, it’s getting dark out, we need to go home.  To Kokiri Forest!”  The world was at my fingertips, and I took advantage of it.

I tell people that my first crush was on a kid named Alex, but only because it would be weird for me to say, “Link!  You know, from Zelda! The video game!”  Yea, I’m pretty sure he was my original first crush.  I loved him.  I still do.  Back then it was because he was hot, now it’s because he’s a man.  Even though he’s still pretty hot, but in his actions more so than his looks.  Why am I still talking about this?

And then I discovered fan fiction.  Oh yes, that little place in fandom where you can let your imagination go wild.  You know how wild my imagination went?  I had Link speak.  OH, THE BLASPHEMY!  Anyway.  I had never written an actual story.  Not a “book” anyway.  Maybe a short snippet here and there, for example, when he wakes up and goes to the Deku Tree.  But, that’s not the same as what I was about to attempt.

Long story short, it sucked.  But, I did finish it.  And I was proud.  I have never shown it to anyone, so all anyone has to go on is my word that it is finished.  That’s enough, right?  I started a second one, but I realized I sucked at writing and quit.  I wrote quite a few short stories, but most of the time my nose was stuck in the Verses strategy guide (that thing is falling apart so bad.  You can tell it’s loved).  I could not go anywhere without it.  I would take it in the car and quiz Mom all the time.  She was the best mom ever, putting up with me talking about Zelda, reading about Zelda, playing Zelda.  She even beat Morpha on New Year’s Day, 2000.

In fifth grade, we had to write adventure stories.  By that time I was playing Link’s Awakening.  How perfect is that?  My teacher took one look at my first sentence and exclaimed, “CLASS, THIS IS HOW YOU START A STORY!”  She didn’t yell, but she was pretty excited.  You know what my first sentence was?  Bang, boom, flash!  Yep, that was it, I was describing the lightning that hit Link’s raft.  And you know what?  That was it! I knew right then and there that I was a writer.

But honestly, it wasn’t until ten years later that I actually stepped into that role.  I had written for my high school’s newspaper and yearbook, but in November of 2010, I joined NaNoWriMo.  And I began to write my first book, apart from Zelda.  Any story I had to write, any genre, any poem, was based on Zelda.  In 2006 when my Zelda games were stolen (along with my N64, Gameboy, GameBoy Advanced, and all of my other games), I mourned the loss by filing away my books and posters and didn’t look at a Zelda website for some time.  Six years later, my mother surprised me with a Wii and Twilight Princess.  I had never been so happy to see a Zelda game, let alone this one.  I still have a hard time deciding which Zelda game is my favorite, Ocarina of Time or Twilight Princess.

After winning NaNoWriMo with a half-finished story that wasn’t any good, I sat back with a smile.  The Zelda games made me do it.  It was all because of Zelda that I started writing in the first place.  That’s my excuse every time I sit down and start writing sometime.  Anything, even this blog post.  I write because the Zelda games opened my mind to adventure, to story telling, to twists and turns, and setting, and characters and their personality traits.  It taught me how to visualize, to describe what I see.  Emotion, consequences of your decisions, love, hate, revenge.  I quit college because I decided that I am a writer.  I quit college because the Zelda games made me do it.

If I could, I’d fill up my life with Zelda.  I just recently told my mom, “I want a piece of Zelda jewelry .”  “I don’t know your ring size,” Mom replied, “would you like a necklace?”  She was being serious, just like the time I told her I wanted to quit college.  “Mom, I want to quit college and be a writer” I told her.  “Ok, start with a blog.”

Other than jewelry, I have decided that I want a Zelda tattoo.  Yea, I’m that kind of fan.  If I could draw, I’d show you what I want.  But, instead, I’ll just describe it!

Link on the King of Red Lions, the sail flapping in the wind (you can imagine it, since it can’t actually flap) as they sail into a sunset with a red sky (red sky at night, sailor’s delight), the colors reflecting onto the water, and the lyrics of a Phil Wickham song surrounding it: “I’m sailing on a ship that’s bound for life.”  I chose that lyric, instead of, “I’m setting off to sea in a boat that’s filled from bow to stern of things that I don’t need” because, well, it’s shorter, and Link needs all of his items.  I chose the first set for obvious reasons, but also, for not so obvious reasons.  Unexplored Boundaries, or, the title of the blog.

Zelda is my ship.  With each new game I set sail to new adventure, to further broaden my creative imagination.  I’m bound for life, I’m heading towards my future with every new door that every new game opens.  And yes, I did just come up with that right now.

I want a Zelda fan to do this tattoo.  I want someone who loves Zelda as much, or more, than I do, to do this.  I want them to take pride in this piece of work, to understand the love I have for the series, to actually care about the meaning and the emotion behind it.  This tattoo means too much to have it just thrown on me by someone who just wants my rupees money.

I love the Zelda series.  I thank God that my mom’s boyfriend was around so I could discover this beautiful story.  And also to remind myself why I write.

The Zelda games made me do it.

Leave a Reply

