Catching Fire And I’m A Writer

I went to see Catching Fire tonight, and let me tell you, it was awesome!  I love how it’s fast paced, but they fit everything in that needs to be in the movie.  Effie’s dresses are beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking (of course, the arena was filmed in Hawaii), and the acting was spot on.  I happen to like Jennifer (I don’t know who doesn’t though).

One thing that I like is the fact that Mom, who didn’t read the book (or any of them), liked it.  I tried my best to explain everything to her, and apparently, I did a good job.  She’s one of those people who likes to know what’s going to happen and how things end (I am not) so it was weird for me to tell her everything.  But, I’m getting the hang of it.

Aside from that, I’d like to tell you what happened when we were coming home.

Where we live, there are deer.  And when I say “there are deer,” I mean, there are deer.  Everywhere, especially at night.  It’s best to drive the speed limit, if not 5 miles under.  Well, there was a guy who was driving really close behind Mom.  She knew better, so she let him go in front of her.  He sped off down the road.

“I know this is mean,” I said, “but I hope you hit a deer.”  I didn’t hope that he hit a dear, I’m not that mean.  But really, I wanted him to learn a lesson.  And he did.  Mom and I were coming up the road.  “I see lights” I said.  It was a cop.  As we drove by, the cop pulled him over.

Mom and I laughed.  “That’s better than hitting a dear” she said.  Yea, it was.  Number one, because he didn’t get into an accident, and number two, because he learned a lesson.

One more thing.

You know how I told you guys about my characters coming back to me over vacation?  (If not, see previous post).  Well, I’ve been writing both book one and two, and I have to say that I’m in love with writing.  I just really love writing.  And I realized, again, for the 100th time, that I’m supposed to be a writer.

Did God confirm this?  Do birds chirp?

The answer is YES (to both questions).

There is a website called DIYMFA.  If you don’t know about it, I suggest you check it out.  Yes, it’s a writing website, but it is so full of tips and tricks and Gabriela, the owner, is very connected with her readers.  Check out her about page.

Anyway, she had a raffle over the weekend, where you enter to win workshops.  The grand prize winner won all six.  That is a $200 prize that the winner would get for free.

And I won.

I found out right after my mother and I were talking about life.  She said, “I don’t want to work a regular job.”  And when she said that, I said to myself, “I want to be a writer.”  And then I found out I won.  I told Mom and she said, “You’re supposed to be a writer.”

That’s right.  I’m glad we’re all in agreement here.  It’s nice to be on the same page.

I can’t believe this.  My characters have come back, I love what I’m writing, I have decided I want to be a writer, and then this happens.  What?

Well, this is my life.  When I went to Texas, I talked to someone about my story and they said, “It will happen.”  The way that they said it, made me feel like that was true.  And then this happens.

So, that’s what’s going on.  Until next time!

Leave a Reply

