NaNoWriMo Week 2 Update

Total Word Count: 22,414

Words Left To Write: 27,586

Week two has been rough.  Like I said last week, this week’s work schedule changed from 7 a.m. to, supposedly, 4 p.m.  Sometimes 5, sometimes 7 or 8.  I got home and I was dead tired.  I’m surprised that I did 2,000 words every day.  As of right now, at 12:25 a.m. on Friday, I am 3,445 words behind on my Backwards NaNo word count.  If I were to go by the regular word count, I’m supposed to be at 15,000 words.  As you can see, I’m at 22,000.  So, yay, I guess I’m not doing too bad.

Yesterday, (Thursday), my mom told me not to go to work because she was feeling sick, and boy am I glad I didn’t go.  Turns out, if I wasn’t there, she would be in the hospital.  She has pneumonia.  So, I took care of her.  I woke up at 7 in the morning, and I only got 2,244 words written…wow.  Week two has sucked.

Mom went to the doctor’s, and I learned that Advil affects the kidneys and Tylenol affects the liver, and all I could think was, “Wow, that would be an interesting way to die.  Kidney failure due to an Advil overdose.  Maybe they were depressed or something.  Or maybe, no one knows why or how he died…like a murder mystery.”  Yea, that’s the writer in me…..

But, on the other hand, having two goals each day actually makes me feel less pressured about getting done.  I have a big goal, but if I don’t reach it, at least I exceeded the smaller one.  It’s like I fall in the middle.  I’m doing better than one goal, and almost as good as the second.  So I’m glad I’m BN.

As for my story, I really thought it sucked earlier.  And it did, if you ask me.  But then I sat down and started writing, and I realized how much this relationship is making me uncomfortable.  It’s very hard to write.  I don’t know how to write my main character.  Anyway, it seems like every time I have a question, I get it answered just about the time I get to that part of the story.

One of my settings is a character.  Ok, maybe not a character, but it definitely represents something.  Hopefully I can write it well enough so the readers can understand what it is.  Now that is fun to write.

Well, that’s it for now.  Good luck to those of you who are struggling.  And to those of you who are not, keep typing away (or scribbling).  It will get better in week three.

Bye!

Leave a Reply

