NaNoWriMo Week 1 Update

Thursday Word Count: 4,056

Friday’s Word Count (as of 1:40 a.m.): 1,452

Comes out to: 5,408

Total Number Of Words I’m Supposed To Have: 6,317

Total Number Of Words Left Today: 909

Since I’m doing Backwards NaNo this year, that’s what these stats are based on.  If we’re going by the regular NaNo stats, I only have 215 words left to write (which I will probably do after I get done writing this).

I watched my computer clock strike 12 a.m. and I just went for it.  After I realized I had 3,000 or so words, I decided, “What the hey, why not try something different?”  It makes me so much happier to know that I am ahead of schedule, because I just found out yesterday (Thursday) that my work schedule is being changed next week.

I usually have Tuesday and Wednesday off, but I have Saturday and Sunday off, then I work Monday to Monday.  Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  This is good and bad:

  • Good: I have from whatever time I get home to whatever time I go to sleep to write
  • Bad: That’s when Mom is up and she wants my attention and she’s watching t.v.  Ok, so that’s not the bad part.  The bad part is, I can’t stay up till 12 or 1 when I write my best stuff, and I’m faster.  Plus, I can’t get up in the morning and write before work.  Eek!

But, everything will be fine once I see how everything is going to work out.  I’ll probably get home an hour or two before Mom, so I can write then (if I don’t procrastinate, which I have a habit of doing).

Story wise, everything is going great.  I’m loving the way I’m establishing the characters, and letting the reader know that things have happened that have shaped the characters into who they are right now.  It’s like the reader has been thrown into the middle of the action.  We meet this group of five seniors, so you know things have happened in their freshman through junior years.  I also love the fact that I have actually made a place a character.  I’m not sure I’ve ever done that.

I’m tired.  I’ll go write my 215 words (or more) and then I’m off.  And to all of you NaNoers, I pray you all are doing well.  If you don’t think you are, trust me, you’re doing better than those who want to do this, but are too lazy to even try.

Until next Friday, good night, and happy NaNoing!

 

Leave a Reply

