NaNoWhatNow?

“Can you believe the nerve of some people?!  Spending a whole month writing?  I can barely read the first two words of this sentence, let alone write for a whole month!”

Yea?  Well that’s the difference between you, and me and almost 300,000 other people (last year there were 256,618 participants).  So keep your mouth shut and let us continue on our imaginary way (except it’s not imaginary to us because we live every single one of our adventures).

Yes, it is indeed that time again.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m talking about NaNoWriMo.

“NaNoWhatNow?”

Close, very, very close.  But no, it’s NaNoWriMo, as in NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth.

Every November, The Office of Letters and Light, a non-profit organization sets up this “competition” to everyone who wants to join in and ruin their lives (or enhance it and even make some money, just like Sarah Gruen who wrote Water For Elephants), and write 50,000 words between November 1st to November 30th.  That’s 50k people!  1,667 words in one 24 hour period.

“Psh!  Now Sarah, that doesn’t sound too hard.”

It may not sound hard, but let me ask you this: how many words have you written today*?

“…”

That’s what I thought.  Try writing 1,667 words a day with kids running around the house, falling asleep in cla- I mean, going to school and paying attention while the teacher talks about calculus…  Or, how about going to a job for 8 hours without taking a break to even write, “I have no time to write!” ?  Hey, that would add 6 words for the day (it’s called ‘word padding,’ totally legal).  Yea, it might be easy for someone who sits at home and has absolutely nothing else to do, but where would the fun be in that?

So yea, for the third year in a row, I shall be joining these lovely, adventurous people.  Let me tell you a little bit about my experience:

Year One

My first year was back in 2010, when I had just started college.  I usually wrote in between classes, in the library.  It was quiet, and no one bothered me, and I had a lot of free time.  Then I would come home and continue.  I had no idea what I was doing, so I just did whatever I wanted to.  I foolishly based it on a daydream I had, and I included two characters into it that were based on real people who were in my life at the time.  I say “foolishly” because they are no longer in my life in that way, and now I have no intention to finish it.  I finished on November 27th with 52,000 words.

Year Two

Again, I was in school.  This time, a year into it.  But, again, I wrote on my breaks, except this time, I hand wrote it in a notebook (which I will never do again.  I’m pretty sure I didn’t win because apparently, I can’t count words very well).  That year, I based it off a dream.  I really loved my dream, and I spent quite a few months planning it out.  And I mean planning it out.  I wrote two long synopses, wrote notes upon notes, outlined like crazy, figured out pretty much everything.  Then, when it came to writing it, I pretty much dug myself into a hole.  Not a plot hole, but an actual hole.  I felt way to constricted by all of my planning, that I felt I had to stay within those boundaries.  It was boring, it was frustrating, it never ended.  I had the hardest time writing that darn thing.  It is the most unrealistic story I have ever written.  Again, I finished on November 27th with 50,000 words.  And, it’s finished.  I don’t like it.  It will never be edited.  It will sit in its corned until I get up the nerve to look at it.

Year Three

You’re probably wondering why I’m doing it again, after I had such terrible times the last two years.  Well, it’s because I love it.  I love to write.  And, I believe I have a good story this year.  I got my research, I’ve taken the notes, I’ve set goal points that I want in my story, but at no particular time.  It’s kind of like I’m saying, “Some time, whenever you’re ready, characters, I would appreciate it if you would [insert idea here]”.  That way, they have the freedom to act as they please, and I have the faith that they will consider my requests (although, they have been known to do their own thing…)

I have character traits for characters that don’t have names with no setting and no plot.  Yay character traits…  They’re good though.  I also have no title…

I have ideas.  But that’s all they are.  I have ways I want this story to go.  It’s realistic fiction, and it’s very predictable.  The main male character has one character flaw, and that is…he has none.  Think about that for a second.

My main female character is just like every other 18-year-old in high school… well, no that’s not fair, I wasn’t like her, and I’m pretty sure there are plenty of girls not like her.

Anyway, that’s all, basically.  The five (count them five) Fridays in November will be about NaNoWriMo (I think, but I’ve been known to change my mind…often…)

Just wanted to let you all know what was going on.  And if I say random stuff on Twitter or Facebook or even Google+ (though not so much Google+, because people there seem to understand me a lot more than other people), like, “The father!  The mother!  I really hate the color of the table!” please understand, that is completely normal for me during November (and any other time of the year, to be quite honest).

Alright, well, that is all.  Until next Friday, bye!  And have a great weekend!

If you want to know more about NaNoWriMo, click the link.

Or how about some facts and stats?  Those are always fun, right?

*- I wrote 1,024 words, and that doesn’t include this sentence, or the notes I wrote this morning, or the notes I wrote at work.  If this was for real, I’d be almost there.
3 thoughts on “NaNoWhatNow?

Leave a Reply

