Something So Positive Can Be So Negative

There is a guy named Mike Donehey.  He is the lead singer of a band called Tenth Avenue North.  Now this band has some beautiful songs.  They are full of hope, and love, and hard-hitting truth.  They’re just fantastic.

Mike writes.  Of course he does, he writes the songs.  But he always writes blog posts.  I used to read his writings on MySpace all the time.  I also got a booklet with some of his writings.  Full of information, I learned a lot from him.

I have always loved his writing.  Like I said, I learned a lot, and I agreed with everything he said, and I was wowed and awed by the things he showed me.

I have always loved his writing…until I read his most recent blog post.

Back in 2008 is when I first discovered Mike (and by discovered I mean, first heard about him).  I had been listening to a paster named Joseph Prince for a year, and Mike’s songs lined up with Joseph’s teachings.  In that year, I had grown so much, and I fell so in love with Joseph and his ministry, that when I realized TAN went right along with him, I knew this band was awesome.

Fast forward to now.  I have been listening to Joseph for 5 years (I believe it was 5 years last month) and I have such a different outlook on Jesus and this whole “religion” of Christianity.  I realize that it isn’t a religion, it’s a relationship with someone who loves you so deeply and just wants to be with you no matter what.

And then to read Mike post a blog about God not needing us?

http://mikedonehey.tumblr.com/post/30815066028/god-dont-use-me

If you don’t want to read it, here’s a snippet:

God doesn’t need us.
He doesn’t.

Wow Mike!  Way to be encouraging and uplifting and making people want to accept God!  Why on Earth would I want to be with someone who doesn’t even need me?

Mike’s post made me very depressed.

I had a chat with a very good friend of mine, Zaq.  He isn’t a “real” Christian, but as we both have decided, who can decide that but God?

Anyway, Zaq made a very good point:

If I put myself in a christian viewpoint for a moment, I think that no, God doesn’t need us. But I do think that He wants us. And as much as He doesn’t need to use us, He wants to.
Because He knows that that is what’s best for us.

He then went on to say:

But I believe His want of you to live your life to it’s own purpose donned by free will is still a want over a need, y’know?

Before we go any farther, I’d just like to say one thing.  I did at one point in my life think the way Mike does.  I did think, “No, God doesn’t need us.  He can send someone else to do something that I was supposed to.  It’s a privilege I get to do anything for God in the first place.”

I’m sorry (not), but that just makes me sad.

I do have to agree with Zaq, though.  There is a difference between ‘want’ and ‘need’.

Want: have a desire to possess or do (something); wish for

Need:  require (something) because it is essential or very important

Look at that!  With that right in front of your face, is Mike saying that we are not important?  No, but going to extremes here, then yes.

I have a few things to say:

Jeremiah 1:5– Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart: I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.

Jeremiah 29:11– “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you […]”

What about when Jesus said, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel” (Mark 16:15)?

1 Corinthians 3:8– The man who plants and the man who waters have one purpose […].  For we are God’s fellow workers.

1 Corinthians 12:27– Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.

It sounds to me that we are very much needed.

Why would a king give up everything, and die for someone, who wasn’t needed?

Why would God find pleasure in crushing His Son, for someone who wasn’t needed (Isaiah 53:10)?

Isaiah 53:5– The punishment that brought us peace was upon Him.

Why, if God can use someone else in our place, were we created?

God had us thought up way before we were even born.  He has plans for us.  He has made us into something that no one else can be, because no one else can be the us that we are.  We are born with words, and pictures, and melodies, that no one else is born with.  God needs us to be here.  He can use other people, and He does, but we can reach people who someone else can’t.  Do we go through what we do just so God can say, “Never mind, I’ve got someone better.”  No.  We are appointed, and destined.  God needs us.

We ARE needed.

I’m struggling right now to find what God needs me to do.  What is my purpose?  I quit school to write, but what does He need me to write?  Does He need me to write?  Was school taking me away from Him, and that’s why He had me quit?  What am I supposed to do?  What am I supposed to say?

I don’t know, but I am so thankful that I can find rest in the knowledge that I am needed, just as I am, where I am, doing what I’m doing.

I can find rest in knowing that I am needed.

I am needed, gosh darn it!

We all are.

3 thoughts on “Something So Positive Can Be So Negative

  1. I just have to say, I love reading your thoughts.

    It’s an interesting post, from many different angles. You’re well-aware that I am an atheist, so I can’t comment much on what I do or don’t think G-d feels about humans (I will take the liberty of speculating below though). But I think in a lot of ways, what you refer to as G-d, I frequently refer to as The Universe. There’s a poem by Marianne Williamson (made popular by the movie Coach Carter), and these lines I think most aptly apply to your post as a whole:

    “We were born to make manifest the glory of God within us.
    It is not just in some; it is in everyone.

    “And, as we let our own light shine, we consciously give
    other people permission to do the same.

    “As we are liberated from our fear,
    our presence automatically liberates others”

    If you don’t mind me taking the liberty, but if the G-d of the Bible, the G-d of Abraham, has a purpose for us in mind, I think it would be to inspire others to, who might not necessarily otherwise, live their lives in a fulfilling manner. I don’t think that necessarily means having a personal relationship with Jesus; it may simply mean that they find spiritual fulfillment in other ways. Maybe through charity work, maybe an artistic area, maybe in raising a family. The cliche line about leading by example is cliche because it’s incredibly true. People have this amazing tendency towards mimicry of others (see: riot mentality), but that doesn’t mean it’s always a negative activity.

    As for whether you are wanted or needed. It’s my general speculation that a being (such as a deity) that creates something, does so with a purpose and a need. The best connection I have to that is my painting. I paint with purpose and a need to do so. I don’t just want the end result, I need to have that end result. I need to see what, when I pour my heart into my brushes, exactly what will turn out. And my connection to my paintings is more than, “Oh, that’s kinda neat.” It’s a piece of who I am. In this line of thought, I can only imagine there is a piece of G-d in everything he/she/they create. And you don’t ‘want’ pieces of yourself, you need them.

    Like

    1. How can an atheist get it? I love what you said about God having us inspire others to “live their lives in a fulfilling manner.” Honestly, all I want is for people to be happy. I want them to have an open mind and to hear me out, but I want them to be happy (which you do very well, and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it).
      As for your point about being a painter, and needing to see the end result, and that you don’t ‘want’ pieces of yourself, but you need them. That line got me. It’s so beautiful. We are, as the Bible says, created in God’s image and likeness. Therefore, you are absolutely correct in saying there is a pieces of God in everything He creates. You get it, and you don’t even know :P.
      Thank you for being you :).

      Like

Leave a Reply

